Notes of Guidance on Completion of the Mid-Year Junior School Application Form

1. This form should be completed and then be sent directly to Perryfields Junior School.

2. You should be aware that there is no guarantee of a place at any school so you can and should apply for more than one school, unless you have established that your preferred school definitely has a

place for your child. To find out if there are places, you will need to contact the school(s) directly.

3. If you do decide to apply for more than one academy, foundation or voluntary aided school, you need to make a separate application on a separate form for each school.

4. Once you have sent your application to the school, we will write to you within 15 school days to confirm if a place is being offered or not. If you do not hear within this timescale, please contact us directly to ask about your application.

5. If we write to you to offer a place, you should get in touch with us to confirm if you are accepting the place and arrange a start date.

6. If you are refused a place, the letter you receive should explain that you have the right of appeal to an independent appeal panel against the decision. Appeals should be made in writing using the schools appeal form. Details can be found on website.

7. Applying from overseas – For non-UK citizens, the child must be in the UK before the application can be processed and proof of residency such as an endorsed (stamped) passport or entry visa will be required with the application.

8. If, having applied for a place, you do not manage to secure a school for your child (and you are living in the Essex County Council area* or have a confirmed move into the County), please contact School Admissions at Essex County Council on Tel: 0345 603 2200 for further support and advice. The email address for School Admissions is <u>admissions@essex.gov.uk</u>.

9. Please remember – applications must be sent direct to Perryfields Junior School and not Essex County Council.

* If you live in Essex you will pay your Council Tax to one of the following Borough/District Councils: Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Rochford, Tendring or Uttlesford.